Life on the Autism spectrum

Martin - Interview 10b

Male
Age at interview: 16
Age at diagnosis: 12

Brief outline: Martin was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome aged 12. His mother and older brother have since been diagnosed too.

Background: Martin, a student, lives with his mother. Ethnic background/nationality: White British

Audio & video

 Martin was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome in his early teens. His mother and older brother have since been diagnosed with AS. The diagnosis meant little to Martin, just “extra paperwork” to his name though he does think that people with AS are more interesting. He has found that the diagnosis allows him to access support at college which is good though he doesn’t like college as there were too many people there.

 
Martin describes how he has always enjoyed his own company and people irritate him. He enjoys reading, walking the dogs, listening to music and going on the internet. He isn’t sure what he wants to do in the future but would like to work outdoors.
 

Feedback

Please use the form below to tell us what you think of the site. We’d love to hear about how we’ve helped you, how we could improve or if you have found something that’s broken on the site. We are a small team but will try to reply as quickly as possible.

Please note that we are unable to accept article submissions or offer medical advice. If you are affected by any of the issues covered on this website and need to talk to someone in confidence, please contact The Samaritans or your Doctor.

Make a Donation to healthtalk.org





Find out more about how you can help us.

Send to a friend

Simply fill out this form and we'll send them an email